If you live in Massachusetts, you are probably wondering whether you are allowed to keep your old plates or not. Massachusetts does not require you to return your old license plates. So, read on to know what to do with old license plates Massachusetts.
Before you can keep your old license plates, the registration needs to be canceled.
Can I Keep My License Plate When I Sell My Car Massachusetts?
You can keep your license plate when you sell your car in Massachusetts. However, you have to register the plates to a new vehicle within 7 days. If you intend to keep the plates and no longer register it to a vehicle, you have to cancel the registration. In Massachusetts, you don’t have to return license plates to the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) when registration is canceled.
You need to hold onto the Registration Cancellation Receipt after you’ve canceled your vehicle’s registration. This receipt is not just a record for you, but you’ll also need to give a copy to your insurance provider.
Remember, once the registration of your car or truck is canceled, you can’t drive it on any public roads in Massachusetts. The RMV will give you a receipt when they cancel your registration.
What to Do with Old License Plates Massachusetts
After your registration is canceled, you can’t just keep the license plates as they are. You have two options: either cut the plates in half and throw them away or if your town allows it, you can take the destroyed plates to your local recycling center for disposal.
1. Cancel the Registration
First, cancel your old license plates. You won’t be charged a fee to cancel your registration. However, if your registration was revoked due to an insurance obligation, a reinstatement fee will be added to the account. Thus, you will need to pay a reinstatement fee before registering the vehicle with a new plate number in Massachusetts.
2. Dispose of Your Massachusetts Plates
You can dispose of your Massachusetts license plates by cutting the plates in half and throwing them away. Cutting them in halves is important so that no other person can use your plates to commit violations or a crime that will be traced back to you.
3. Take It to Your Local Recycling Center
If your town allows it, you can take the destroyed plates to your local recycling center for disposal.
Excise Tax Abatements
If you’ve canceled your car’s registration for reasons like moving out of Massachusetts, your vehicle being stolen, or no longer owning the vehicle, you might be able to get a tax break on your local vehicle tax. But remember, just canceling your registration doesn’t automatically qualify you for this tax break.
You will need to apply for this tax reduction by giving some paperwork to your local tax office. This includes proof of why you canceled your registration and anything else the state law asks for. If you are not sure about what you need or have other questions, make sure to get in touch with your local tax office.
Can I Put My Old Plates on My New Car Massachusetts?
You can put your old plates into a new car in Massachusetts within 7 days.
Read also: Which States Do Not Require Car Insurance?