I have two homes where do I register my car? Usually, you want to register your car in the state with your primary address. Vehicle registration helps states to determine ownership, providing data for criminal investigations or tax evaluations, and ensuring that the vehicle adheres to the safety and emission standards of that state. Now, make sure that your driver’s license is issued by the same state because most states do not permit non-residents to register their vehicles. However, if you own homes in two different states, you might be unsure about where to register your car.
Again, the simplest solution would be to register your car in the state where it is most frequently driven. This could be the state whose address is listed on your driver’s license or your primary mailing address.
But you may also want to consider the registration fees and insurance premiums of each state. Some states offer lower insurance premiums and registration fees, which could potentially save you some money. Moreover, every state has unique vehicle registration regulations. California, for instance, has strict laws regarding mufflers, considering any modification to the original muffler as illegal.
When registering your car, ensure that all the registration documents mention your chosen primary address.
I Have Two Homes Where Do I Register My Car?
To put it simply, if you own two homes, your car should be registered at your primary residence, which is the address where you spend the majority of your time or intend to do so. If you are unsure about your primary residence, think about the following:
- What is your primary mailing address?
- Which address is listed on your driver’s license?
- Will you spend considerably more time at one address than the other?
After you factor in these considerations, make sure that all your other documents, especially your car insurance policy, reflect your primary address.
What If You Have Multiple Cars?
If you have multiple vehicles, you may register each one in a different state. However, given that each state has its own unique vehicle registration process, you have to meet the registration requirements of each respective state when re-registering your vehicles.
Do I Have to Change My Car Registration if I Move to Another State?
If you have just moved to a new state, changing your car registration depends on a myriad of factors, such as the laws of your new state and your intended length of stay. The best thing to do is to contact the local DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) to understand its specific vehicle registration requirements.
Usually, you are expected to register your car in your new state within 30 days of moving. However, some states have exceptions. For example, You have 30 days from moving here to register your vehicle in Texas and up to 90 days to get a driver’s license. California requires vehicle registration within 20 days of relocation. If your stay in the new state is short-term (less than 90 days), you might not need to register your vehicle.
States that Allow You to Register as a Non-Resident
While most states only permit residents to register their vehicles, there are a few exceptions that allow non-residents to do so. These states include:
- New York
- North Dakota
Remember, the registration requirements of these states differ, so do your own research by checking the specific state’s DMV website. Meanwhile, if you have no insurance, you can still get one without registering your car.
Read also: Washington State SR22 Requirements